PENTATONIX

HEY Guys!!! It’s me again with something a little bit different from what I would normally do. I’m not reviewing anything today, this is just what I would call an appreciation or recognition post and from another point of view I would be introducing you to the awesomeness of Pentatonix and everything you need to know about them. Before I begin to fangirl over how much I love them I’ll just give you a little background history.

So Pentatonix (A.K.A PTX) is an American Acapella group consisting of five Vocalists; Avi Kaplan (Bass), Scott Hoying (Tenor), Kevin Olusola (Beat boxer), Mitch Grassi (everything LOL) and Kristie Maldonado (Soprano and Alto).

ptx2013_photo_gal_58698_photo_1119926010
From left to right; Avi Kaplan, Kristie Maldonado, Scott Hoying, Mitch Grassi, Kevin Olusola.

PTX had its inception in the year 2011 and was shot to superstardom the same year after winning the acapella competition the sing-off which earned them a cash prize $200,000 and a recording contract with SONY music. They later formed their popular YouTube channel after being dropped by Epic and distributed their music through Madison Gate Records which is formidable for distribution of movie soundtracks. They have racked up over 1.54 billion total views and 10.5 million subscribers, making their channel the 13th most subscribed music video channel on YouTube. Their music is mostly covers of already existing songs in medleys coupled with tight harmonies, killer extensive vocal runs and riffs, steady basslines (thank you Avi) and beat boxing (Kevin slays).

They currently have 3 EP’S (PTX vol. I-III), one studio album (Pentatonix) consisting of mostly original arrangements and two holiday releases (PTXmas & That’s Christmas to me).

That’s Christmas to me was recently certified double platinum earlier this year and they have won two Grammy’s for Best arrangement, Instrumental or acapella for “Daft Punk” at the 57th annual Grammy awards and then again for “Dance of the sugar plum fairy” at the 58th annual Grammy awards, making them the only acapella group to have won the award ever.PPP

Okay I’m tired of this history lesson, let’s get down to the music. Now if you think I’m lying when I say these people are massively and extremely talented, you are highly mistaken. I’m yet to find a group as vocally talented and diverse as this merry band. In fact, PTX will definitely kill a good number of artistes vocally be it individually or collectively. Damn! Listening to these people sing is amazing because they use no instruments or computer generated beats, every single sound is mad by their voices. At first I thought it was a lie but I heard them perform live and I can say that my life was changed. Also they are also vocally challenging cus their vocal runs and riffs are definitely Beyonce worthy (and Beyonce is the Queen of Vocal runs and riffs). If you haven’t listened to PTX before and this post hasn’t convinced you enough, head over to their YouTube channel and just take your pick, they never disappoint. Scott and Mitch also have their own spinoff YouTube channel “Sup3rFruit” and I tell you these two were a music match made in heaven. Their voices fit perfectly together, mitch having a higher vocal range than your fav (except Ariana Grande, Beyonce and the like, no shad but shade) slays every single note that proceeds from his mouth and Scott’s riffs are just fire.

I’m sorry for the long ass post but I just felt like sharing my love PTX and their awesomeness. I really appreciate the beauty and hard work behind their music. Here’s a link to PTX’s official YouTube Channel here and a link to the spinoff channel Sup3rFruit here.

As always thank you for reading, please don’t forget to like, comment, subscribe and share! Please share!!!! Let me know if there is anything you would like me to review in my next post in the comment section.

Author: DAVE

I love watching Movies and Love listening to Music. I'm also very opinionated, that's why I started my blog, I give my opinions on movies/music and also pop culture.

Leave a Reply

