SONG OF THE WEEK

Hey guys!! Its your boy back again with another song of the week. I know I said I was going to upload one every week but being totally honest it was a failed attempt because my demographic behind this isn’t just to share with you guys awesome music, but it’s to share songs that I think I have a personal connection with. So on that note I will be dropping one of these once in a while, you know whenever I feel motivated to.

So if you’re one to follow the activities of the music industry/society, then you definitely don’t miss the Annual Grammy Awards. There were some amazing performances this year, I’m sure you all remember Lady Gaga’s David Bowie tribute (Epic!!) and you definitely remember the duet between James Bay and Tori Kelly. Yeah those performances were awesome but when this particular artiste who I had never heard of took the stage with Ellie Goulding I knew I had to get her song. That leads to my song of the week; Rise up by Andra Day. Rise up isn’t your conventional pop song, it’s a song that takes root in the somewhere from the mid 80’s to early 2000’s (in the same tone with the rest of her album).

I love this song not only because of her amazing vocals, but this song has a strong message and I believe we all need this in our lives. When you’ve been let down enough times in this life or you’ve been pushed around more than a couple times, you begin to believe people when they tell you you’re not good enough or you’ll never be anything more than a name that they call you. Being through what I’ve been through this song gave me a new sense of hope. It made me feel again. It has almost a chemical effect on me and because of that it’s become one of my everyday listen s just because I love how it makes me feel.

So if you haven’t listened to rise up, I strongly suggest you get to your nearest music provider (ITunes, Apple music, Spotify) and make this a part of your favourite playlist.

 

Author: DAVE

I love watching Movies and Love listening to Music. I'm also very opinionated, that's why I started my blog, I give my opinions on movies/music and also pop culture.

Leave a Reply

