DARKNESS (AN ODE TO THE #BLACKLIVESMATTER MOVEMENT)

I’m not even going to sit here and pretend like I’m happy. I am not. I unlock my phone to be greeted by what? The death of my people at the hands of the police. Five children have lost their fathers this past two days. One wife is left a widow, two mothers have lost their sons. When will we see the end of these inhumane acts? Between Malcolm X and Jesse Williams we have five generations of activists, five generations who will stand up for the black man or woman, five generations who have said the same things and yet I look around and ask where is the progress? Is it only darkness and death that awaits us?

Alton Sterling and Philando Castile were shot? No! they were murdered by members of the American police force. They were murdered, in cold blood by men who had once sworn to protect the American citizens. Human beings. Does this mean that the two men and the countless others on the growing list of victims to police brutality are any less human than the white man? NO! my heart bleeds for every black man, woman or child who has been murdered for the very reason of being black. I didn’t know it was a crime to exist and live in the skin that you are in.

If young Tamir Rice, Eric Garner, Sandra Bland, Mike Brown, Trayvon Martin and a host of many others were not given justice, I fear that these two men, somehow will not be given justice as well. I don’t see or smell justice in something as little as suspension. I have decided to speak out because I am sick and tired of being sick and tired and I believe you should too. This is not a plea to my black brothers and sisters. This is a plea to any human who sees the injustice that happens every day even though it happens a million miles away. We must stand together as one and demand justice for every one of our fallen brothers and sisters. We must fight for a better tomorrow! Maya Angelou once said “You will face many defeats in life, but never let yourself be defeated”. Consider this a wake up call people we cannot allow ourselves to be treated this way, we must take our anger and turn it to action. Say their names, remember their faces. They may be gone but never forgotten.

Author: DAVE

I love watching Movies and Love listening to Music. I'm also very opinionated, that's why I started my blog, I give my opinions on movies/music and also pop culture.

11 thoughts on “DARKNESS (AN ODE TO THE #BLACKLIVESMATTER MOVEMENT)”

  1. Wow inspiring I’m really impressed. Ok now that we’ve established that, like sorry random question are you black? Niggas is dying from lack of glo recharge card too, oya I want to see the same passion start my movement #MYLIFEMATTERS

    Like

    1. Yes, of course I’m black and sorry about your recharge card and the lack thereof but it seems like we are in the same boat

      Like

  2. If progress were to be measured by the basest of acts, then truly there would be no progress, yet in my lifetime I have seen a tremendous amount of change, of inclusion and of people of color rising through the ranks into positions of power and influence. Have faith. There are many in white America who stand in solidarity with this cause. No mother should ever have to fear her son being killed for the color of his skin.

    Like

  3. Am so impressed with your writing David. If only humanity knows that it’s the same God who created both blacks and white, methinks they’d have respect for all lives! My heart breaks for the mums of those two and many more who have lost their lives senselessly! Keep up your writing skills! #blacklivesmatter

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! I didn’t do a review of Civil Wat because around the time I watched it I was really busy with school (you should know)

      Like

Leave a Reply

