INDEPENDENCE DAY: RESURGENCE

HEY GUYS!! I’m back with another summer movie review and this is a bit of a hit or miss but I think you guys should still go see it. I know some of you haven’t watched the first movie but this movie is the sequel to the 1996 movie Independence Day. A little advice; if you haven’t watched Independence Day, well you should look for it and watch it before watching Independence Day: Resurgence.

This movie starts 20 years after the first alien attack on the world in 1996 which enabled nations of the world to acquire intelligence from the mother ship which landed on earth at the time and use this intelligence to build weapons for defensive and offensive measures. After 20 years of peace and unity on earth, they are faced with an even bigger threat to humanity which in the course of events makes them realize that they are actually at the centre of an intergalactic war.

Here’s what I think went wrong with this movie.

First, why wait 20 years to release a sequel for heaven’s sake? When I watched this movie, I didn’t even know about the first one which was made in 199fucking6. I was so confused and lost because they made so many references to the 1996 war against the species which attacked earth. If I hadn’t gone back to watch the first Independence Day I wouldn’t have understood this movie at all. Secondly, since they decided to wait so long before releasing a sequel, they could have at least given us more of a recap because as I said before there were too many references to the ancient predecessor of this movie. Thirdly, the plot was pretty lousy. I say that because there were so many unanswered questions and too many unnecessary characters who had far too little to do with the movie and less depth than I expected.

Here’s what I liked about this movie.

I liked the scenes of mass destruction; they were very nicely depicted and kept me craving more. The movie climaxed quite nicely from the point of the arrival of the bigger and badder mother ship to the final showdown against the queen, everything was just action packed and it didn’t lack anything. The sense of humour in this movie was cute but sometimes unnecessary, it didn’t feel natural but I was able to overlook it and generally enjoy it. I think this must be what intrigued me the most about this movie. So the extraterrestrial species which attacked earth had their own ecosystem in their mother ship. I think that was so cool and we had just enough time to see inside the mother ship.

As I said earlier, this movie was a hit or miss for me which I believe is due to the fact that I hadn’t watched the first Independence Day. I liked the action scenes and climax but as a whole I would rate this movie 6.4/10.

If you’ve seen independence day let me know what your thoughts on the movie in the comment section and also don’t forget to like, follow and share this blog with your friends on social media. Thank you for reading, till next time, stay slaying!!!

Author: DAVE

I love watching Movies and Love listening to Music. I'm also very opinionated, that's why I started my blog, I give my opinions on movies/music and also pop culture.

2 thoughts on “INDEPENDENCE DAY: RESURGENCE”

Leave a Reply

